GENERAL FAQs
Q: Will the "MONOPOLY 85th Hong Kong Championship" use the Speed Die rules?
A: No.

Q: How much money does each player start with?
A: M1500. (2 x M500, 4 x M100, 1 x M50, 1 x M20, 2 x M10, 1 x M5 and 5 x M1)

Q: Can I play using my own lucky MONOPOLY token?
A: No. You must use a token from the game being used in the Championship.

Q: Can I keep my money in my pocket or under the table?
A: No. Your money must be in view of the banker, judge and other players during play. You can leave it in a pile and even turn it face down, so it's not clear exactly how much you have, but it must all be on the table – you can't hide a note in your pocket and put it back into play later.

● You can briefly count your money out of sight of other players (e.g. under the table) before putting it back in full view of others.

● You do not have to tell anyone exactly how much money you have, even if asked.

Q: Can I ask a friend, observer, or interpreter for game advice during play??
A: No. You cannot take advice from anyone during the game. Interpreters may only communicate what someone else has said and must not offer advice of any kind.

Q: If the time runs out in a time-limit game, does play stop immediately, or do all players left in the game take an equal number of turns?
A: Yes. All players left in the game take an equal number of turns.

RENT
Q: How long do I have to ask for rent?
A: In MONOPOLY Championship, you can ask for rent until the second player throws the dice. This is to encourage good sportsmanship.

e.g., Player A lands on your property, Player B takes a turn. You can still ask for rent. As soon as the dice leave Player C's hand, you have missed your chance.

Q: What happens if someone calls for rent while the next player has just thrown the dice?
A: If the dice are already on the table when someone calls for rent, the roller moves their token and takes action for the space they land on. Once their turn is over, the other player can collect the rent owed from earlier in the game.

If the dice are still in the air when someone calls for rent, place the roll to one side and settle the rent immediately. The roller then moves according to their roll (unless they were the rent-payer and were bankrupted on that turn).

Q: Can I ask another player what the rent is on one of their properties?
A: Yes. You don't have to land on a space to ask what its rent is.

Q: Am I allowed to accept property instead of rent?
A: Yes, but this is classed as a trade.

TURNS
Q: When does a turn actually end?
A: When a player has rolled the dice once, moved and carried out any actions on that space, their turn is officially over. If they rolled a double, their turn continues. Their next roll does not count as an extra turn. This means that other players cannot trade between the end of that player's first roll and their extra roll.

Q: Once I roll the dice, do I have to move my token immediately?
A: Yes.

TRACK SPACES
Q: When do I collect M200 for passing GO?
A: Whenever you land on GO or move past it during a turn.

Q: When I land in Income Tax, can I still opt to pay 10% of my assets instead of M200?
A: No, the only option available is to pay M200.

Q: If my token is on Just Visiting, can I choose to go to Jail?
A: No.

Q: When I'm in jail, can I roll again if I get out by rolling a double?
A: No. Use the double you rolled as your move. However, if you pay a M50 fine or use a card to get out of jail before you roll and then roll a double, move and roll again (it was not the double that got you out of jail).

CARDS
Q: Can I use a "Get Out of Jail Free" card to avoid paying the M50 fine even after I've rolled three times and must leave jail?
A: Yes. This saves you having to pay a M50 fine.

Q: Someone accidentally flips the wrong card (e.g., Chance instead of Community Chest). What happens now?
A: The banker shows the card that was flipped by accident to all players, then returns it to the bottom of the deck. The player whose turn it is now takes the top card from the correct pile and acts on it as normal.

However, if the judge(s) conclude the flip was not accidental, they can rule that the card remains at the top of its deck.

BUYING, SELLING, AND TRADING
Q: Can I sell houses to other players?
A: No. You can only sell houses and hotels to the bank (at half their original price).

Q: Can I sell properties to the bank?
A: No. If you go bankrupt because of what you owe the bank, give your Title Deed cards to the banker, who auctions them off to the highest bidder.

Q: Can I sell a "Get Out of Jail Free" card for more than M50?
A: No. You can sell it for any amount up to M50, but no more.

Q: Is it possible no one will bid at an auction for a property?
A: Yes, but it would make no sense. The minimum bid is M1. If you buy a property for this amount and mortgage it immediately you are guaranteed to make a profit on that property. In the unlikely event that there are no bids, the banker awards the property to the player with the most money, for the price of M1.

Q: How much time can a trade or deal between players take?
A: As a general guide, no single trade should take longer than 60 seconds. If more than one trade is made on the same turn, the whole negotiation should not take longer than 5 minutes. The banker can allow players a little longer if it is not disrupting the game. However, if the banker thinks players are intentionally trading slowly to delay the game, they may involve the judge to make the decision to stop the trade and allow the next player to roll.

Note: If trade seems to benefit everyone and all players wish to keep trading, the judge is likely to allow it to continue. However, if it is arguable that some players are working together to delay the progress of the game to stop another player advancing, the judge will move the game on.

Q: Can I agree to favor another player later in the game to avoid paying rent? (e.g., "I won't any build hotels on the dark blue spaces if you let me off rent on the property I've just landed on.")
A: No. This counts as forming partnerships with another player and is not allowed. You can only trade in money, properties, or cards you have at the time of the deal.

e.g., Player A lands on B's property. The rent is huge. Player B cannot let A off the rent in exchange for a promise that A will do the same in return if B lands on one of their properties later in the game. However, they can agree to take some of A's properties instead of rent, as those properties belong to A at the time of the trade.

Q: During an auction because of a housing shortage, can I still trade with other players?
A: No. Once the banker commences an auction, no trading is permitted until the auction concludes. This is true whether for property, buildings, or cards.

Q: Can I make a trade with one player during another player's turn?
A: No. Trades that take place during a turn must involve the player whose turn it is. Between turns, any player can trade with any other player.

e.g., Player A rolls. Player B tries to trade with Player C in order to affect the outcome of A's turn. This is not allowed.

However, you can discuss trades, without stopping the game, at any time. Keep rolling the dice and taking turns as you discuss. Using the example above, players B and C can discuss trades while player A is having a turn, but they cannot complete a trade until player A has finished.

Q: How many times can I trade one property with the same player?
A: There is no hard and fast rule to say that the same property cannot change hands any number of times between any number of players. However, forming partnerships with one player to work together against another player or players is not allowed. If a judge considers your repeated trading to be this kind of partnership, they have the right to stop it happening. The decision is at the judge's discretion and their word is final.

Q: If, during a building shortage, I want to buy houses for my properties and another player wants to break down a hotel and swap it for houses, who gets priority?
A: You do. Players who want to build always have priority.

Q: What happens when more than one player wants to break down hotels for houses at the same time, but there is a limited number of houses left?
A: Where possible, the banker divides the houses equally between the players. Spare houses cannot be sold this turn. Players receive half the house's value in cash for the remaining houses.

e.g., Players A and B both want to break down hotels. There are 4 houses left. Both players receive 2 houses each plus half the cash value of the other two houses.

If houses cannot be shared out equally, any remaining houses stay in the bank. If, in the example above, there were 5 houses left instead of 4, players would buy the same number of houses and one would remain in the bank.

Q: In a housing shortage when two or more players are bidding for the same houses, can I change the number of houses I want to buy during the auction?
A: No. Players must announce how many houses they want before the auction starts. You cannot increase the number of houses you wish to bid for once the auction has started. However, you may decide not to bid for some of the houses you originally asked for (for example, if you run low on funds).

Q: Can I still trade with my opponent if there are only two of us left in a preliminary game?
A: No. No further deals or trades are allowed when only two players are left.

BANKRUPTCY
Q: If I go bankrupt to another player during my turn, can I mortgage properties that were not mortgaged at the start of that turn before giving them to that player?
A: No. If you cannot raise the full amount you need to pay the other player, hand over your properties in the state they were at the start of that turn.

e.g., If you had three mortgaged properties and three unmortgaged ones before you moved for that turn, this is what you must give the player who bankrupted you, even if you initially tried to mortgage properties to raise cash.

This rule stops players from deliberately mortgaging their properties to make the player who bankrupts them pay 10% of the cost of those properties before handing them over.

Q: Can I refuse mortgaged properties I get from a player I have bankrupted?
A: No. If you don't have enough money to pay the 10% fee to the bank when you receive a mortgaged property from another player, you go bankrupt to the bank.

DICE
Q: Can I roll the dice one at a time?
A: No. All two dice must be rolled at once. If this does not happen, ignore all dice and roll again.